How to pass the first webservice response results value to second webservice request URL? | XM Community

How to pass the first webservice response results value to second webservice request URL?

• 1 April 2021
  • 5 replies

Userlevel 2

Hi Experts,
I am new to qualtrics and exploring the API and webservice action and currently facing an issue. The scenario here is I have created 2 web service tasks under actions, the first webservice is an API call to "Get the distributionID of the survey", the response returns the distributionId. I am using this distributionId value in second webservice to retrieve generated links. First webservice works fine, but the issue is for the second webservice distributionId value is not being sent as expected.
In first webservice, have added the response result.id which is the distributionId value under piped Text
WS_PipedText.JPG
In second webservice, have referred to the result.id response in API url
WS_2.jpgBut second webservice fails, with the following
Task Output{
"name": "ACTIONS.ERROR_CODES.INTERNAL_ERROR",
"message": "we need a path",
"needRetry": true
}

I am not clear what path is it referring here. Am I missing anything?
Any guidance and pointers will be really helpful on how to pass the first webservice response results value to second webservice request URL? Also how can we pass the first webservice selected response results fields as input parameters to second webservice request? Is this possible to achieve from Actions tab?
Thanks!

5 replies

Userlevel 7
Badge +27

I don't think you can pipe results from one task to another task.
You can create your own web service that does both API calls and uses the results from the first API call to construct the url for the second API call. Your action task would run the web service you create.

Userlevel 2