Allowing respondents to skip constant sum questions despite 'Must Total' validation | XM Community
Solved

Allowing respondents to skip constant sum questions despite 'Must Total' validation

Userlevel 2
Badge +1

Hi,
At my organization, we ask a lot of constant sum questions, but we also want to let our respondents skip them when they don't have the relevant data. As of now, it seems impossible to allow respondents to skip questions when 'Must Total' is selected. I think it would be ideal if the 'Must Total' validation was "activated" AFTER respondents enter ANY data into one of the constant sum boxes. So, in effect, if respondents don't enter any data, they can skip it without triggering the validation rules.
The folks over at Product Ideas suggested I post the question here. Does anyone have the custom code to make this work? Thank you in advance - I'm a newbie with javascript!
Also, I have added this request/idea to the Product Ideas page, and I've asked if they can allow the validation to be changed to 'Request Response' at a minimum or, ideally, if they can "activate" the validation as described above.
If you think this should become a standard feature, please upvote it here: https://community.qualtrics.com/XMcommunity/discussion/16460/request-response-not-force-for-constant-sum-questions/p1?new=1
Thanks,
Dr. Josh Kahn

icon

Best answer by ahmedA 2 July 2021, 22:21

View original

26 replies

Userlevel 6
Badge +8

So, you want to display the question, and allow them to skip it if they have not values to put in, right?
I can't find a work around. Looks like the answer could be to allow multiple values in the validation of the total. like "0, 100" would validate against 0 (no answers) or 100 total.
I'll give an upvote to your product idea.

Userlevel 2
Badge +1