Creating a variable to add all the scores of the survey respondents | XM Community
Solved

Creating a variable to add all the scores of the survey respondents

• 27 December 2018
  • 5 replies

Hi all, I am new to the Qualtrics. I could not find the solution for my question. So here is my scenario..

I have a survey with 10 responses and there is an embedded field "Score" which holds a value for all these responses. Is there a way I could add the "Score" field for all the responses?
Also if I have new survey response I would like to add the "Score" field to the cumulative total from the previous 10 responses.

Please help me out with this. Thanks!
icon

Best answer by bstrahin 27 December 2018, 19:26

View original

5 replies

Userlevel 7
Badge +38
You can do this within reporting. But to get it set up properly first:

1. Go to Survey Flow
2. Where you have the variable that is calculating the individual score as an embedded data field, click on Options
3. Make sure the variable type for Score is set to Number
4. Click Okay
5. Save Flow

!

Then you can set up the reporting:

1. Navigate to Reports
2. Find your page for Score
3. Change your Metric to Sum to get a running total that updates as you get more completes

!
Thank you very much. In extension to the above question, Is there a way to send just this running total value for every new survey response to a contact list ?
Userlevel 7
Badge +38
You can get a work around to this if you want the distribution list triggered every time that a completed survey is submitted.

1) In reports, I would create a report that is only the page for score
* In Reports, in the drop down menu at the top left where it says Default Report, select Create New Report.