How to save the embedded data in the csv file + how to show the content of the embedded data in a Q | XM Community
Solved

How to save the embedded data in the csv file + how to show the content of the embedded data in a Q

• 3 February 2019
  • 4 replies

Badge +2
I am designing an experiment using qualtrics in which participants answer a set of questions. If their answer is correct, they will get 10 points. Otherwise, they will lose 10 points. To get a feel for it click on this toy working example (https://stanforduniversity.qualtrics.com/jfe/form/SV_3CcmpdDVrIcxZCB) The correct answer for the first question is cat and the correct answer for the second question is dog. You need to hit space after each question.

I have no background in java script and I am learning as I am doing this project.
I need help with understanding

1. How to display the accumulative score on the screen. Here is what I wrote which seem to be wrong.

sv = Qualtrics.SurveyEngine.getEmbeddedData( 'visiblescore').innerHTML;

alert(sv);

if (sv == null){
sv = 10;
// save the embedded data to Qualtrics
Qualtrics.SurveyEngine.setEmbeddedData('visiblescore', sv);
}
else {
sv += 10;
// save the embedded data to Qualtrics
Qualtrics.SurveyEngine.setEmbeddedData( 'visiblescore', sv);

}

alert(sv);
// replace the span innerHTML with the updated value
jQuery('visiblescore').innerHTML = sv; // I GET AN ERROR HERE>

here is what I added to the content of the question.

<span id="visiblescore">${e://Field/visiblescore}</span>

2. How to log the embedded data values. When I export the data, none of the embedded data values is logged in the exported csv file.

Thank you in advance!
P
icon

Best answer by TomG 3 February 2019, 16:48

View original

4 replies

Userlevel 7
Badge +27
@parpar007,

You need to add the embedded data "visiblescore" to the beginning of your survey flow so it will be saved to your response data.