Within-subject randomization | XM Community
Question

Within-subject randomization

• 1 November 2019
  • 4 replies

Hi everyone, I am a newbie and I need your helps for a within-subject randomization. In my survey, I have 100 blocks (block 1 to block 100), each block has 2 version (version A and version 😎. It means I have 200 blocks in total, i.e. block 1A, block 1B, block 2A, block 2B, ….

Now I want to randomly show them 50 blocks including 25 blocks of version A and 25 blocks of version B, given that if a block is shown with version A, it will not be shown with version B.

If I put all of 200 blocks under a Randomizer in Survey Flow, and randomly choose 50 out of 200, it will lead to 2 problems:

- Problem 1: I may get 40 blocks of version A and 10 blocks of version B instead of 25 version A blocks and 25 version B blocks.
- Problem 2: one block may be shown with both version A and B.

Could you advise me how to use Qualtrics features to overcome 2 problem, especially problem 2?

Thank you very much.
Tomas

4 replies

Userlevel 7
Badge +11
Problem 2 is easy to solve but will take extensive manual coding. Here's what to do:
1. After each of your 200 blocks, set an embedded data field for that block. For example, after block 92A, put an embedded data field named 92 and set it to yes. You'll want to do the exact same thing for block 92B. You'll use this to check if the other version of the block has already been presented.
2. Before each of your 200 blocks, use some branch logic to check if the other version of that block has already been presented. For both block 92A and 92B put branch logic "If Embedded Data field 92 does not contain Yes", in front of it then nest the block under the statement.

For Problem 1, does it matter if all 25 version A blocks are presented before the version B blocks?
> @JenCX said:
> Problem 2 is easy to solve but will take extensive manual coding. Here's what to do: