Custom validation, any combination of n strings | XM Community
Solved

Custom validation, any combination of n strings

• 19 July 2018
  • 7 replies

Hi there,

I am new to the platform and I apologize if the question is easy or a repeat. I was hoping I can get help with my custom validation quest. What I would like to do is make sure that a text entry response is within any combination of couple of strings. I tried the 'Match regex' option but was unable to do what I want. I tried adding javascript code but got lost with using the API. I hope someone can provide some guidance. Thanks in advance!
icon

Best answer by TomG 20 July 2018, 01:41

View original

7 replies

Userlevel 7
Badge +27
> @Clare said:
>What I would like to do is make sure that a text entry response is within any combination of couple of strings.

Can you more specific than your statement above?
Userlevel 6
Badge +6
It would also help if you mentioned your familiarity with JavaScript and Regex.
Hi TomG,

Thanks for your response. I intend to give participants couple of worlds with which they would have to build a sentence/response. I would like to accept as a valid response any combination of these words, as long as only these words are used to compose a response, and all of them are spelled correctly. Ideally, I would like to make sure no numbers, punctuation or any other symbol is included in the response. For instance, if I provide participants with the words:

I
love
hate
swimming
is
what
better

A valid response would be "I like swimming better", "what I like is swimming" etc.

I hope this clarifies it a bit.