How do you restrict the number of times an audio clip is played? | XM Community
Solved

How do you restrict the number of times an audio clip is played?

• 30 November 2020
  • 25 replies

Hi everyone! I'm trying to restrict the number of times (up to 6 times) people can listen to an audio clip within my survey. Additionally, I would like to track the number of times that same audio clip is played (i.e. 1-6 times). I've been browsing the online community for help, but can't seem to get the code to work properly in my survey. This is my first time using Qualtrics, so if anyone could provide any guidance at all, it would be very much appreciated!

icon

Best answer by AHammell 7 December 2020, 23:14

View original

25 replies

Userlevel 2
Badge +10

I may have something cooked up, but a couple of questions first:

• Do you need folks to be able to pause the audio?

• Do you need folks to be able to control any other parts of the audio file in any way (e.g. scrubbing and/or volume control)?

AHammell Hi! Thanks for your response! Ideally, participants will be able to click the "play" button on the audio clip; however, they won't be able to press that button again once it's played once. Pausing/other control features wouldn't be necessary :)

Userlevel 2
Badge +10

Audio_Count_w_Javascript.qsf

Userlevel 2
Badge +10

asimm123 ; Alright, so I just attached a QSF file above, which you can download and import if you would like to see how exactly I implemented the following survey: https://umn.qualtrics.com/jfe/form/SV_bpcbr5HysOKGQfP
There are 3 components to making this work: 1) embedded data fields, 2) corresponding question HTML and 3) corresponding JavaScript.