Paragraph Formatting | XM Community
Solved

Paragraph Formatting

I'm using a "Text Entry", "essay" style question to allow users to provide their justification for their proposal. My intent is to allow them to write as many sentences as they feel are necessary - like an essay.

However, when i use the piped text function to pass the info to the next survey the formatting does not remain in effect. It all becomes just one long string, no paragraph breaks or bullet points.

suggestions?

Thanks
icon

Best answer by TomG 13 June 2018, 17:27

View original

15 replies

Userlevel 7
Badge +27
I think the only way that would work would be if you used an Authenticator that reloaded progress and both people used the same id.
Thanks again Tom - I'm not too tech savvy so I've got another idea. Instead of passing the the piped text to a different survey would it be possible to simply have the approvers simply use the same survey over again? basically as they clicked "Vp Approval" this would then trigger a new email and open a new question for the "SVP approval"...think this might be possible?
Userlevel 7
Badge +27
The encode method you used encoded spaces as +. It depends on the encoding function you use. If you are using JavaScript I think you want to encode each value with encodeURIComponent. If using php through a web service use rawurlencode.
when I urlencode it, i usually get a bunch of "++++" and such? so eithe ri did the wrong kind of encoding or it cause more issues.

I appreciate your help -- is there an alternative way to pass the piped text w/o going thru the email URL? ...or do i need to "encode" the email url somehow to make this work?
Userlevel 7
Badge +27
Ahh, that explains a lot. If you are passing as a url parameter you'll have to urlencode it. You should be doing that for all the text entry values anyway, otherwise, people could enter something that will blow up your url query string. You can do the encoding through JavaScript or a web service.