Linking zip codes to underlying data for display in survey | XM Community
Question

Linking zip codes to underlying data for display in survey

• 11 April 2020
  • 9 replies

Hello!
I'm new to Qualtrics, and working on a survey that collects respondent information and then displays data based on this content back to the respondent. The survey company that I'm using will already have respondents' zip codes, but I'm having trouble figuring out how to link the zip code to my data spreadsheet so that later in the survey I can tell them the information that's linked to their zip code using piped text (I.e. the amount of money their zip code spends on pre school). I've tried using both a contact list and embedded data, but I've had trouble getting the data to display or figuring out where to store the spreadsheet that links respondents' zip codes to the spending data.
I've also tried following the link below https://www.qualtrics.com/community/discussion/1443/how-to-assign-an-embedded-variable-based-on-zip-code , but I'm using a huge spreadsheet with thousands of zip codes so I didn't want to hand code that into the embedded data field if I could avoid it.
Does anyone have advice on how to do this with a huge dataset?
Thanks so much in advance!!

9 replies

Userlevel 7
Badge +27

Upload the zip code data into a web based database table (e.g., MySQL). Write a web service script to query the zip code table and output the data in json format. Call the web service from the survey flow. It will return the zip code data in embedded data variables. Pipe the embedded data variables into your survey questions.

Thank you!! Do you have suggestions for the best web based database table to use? I'm having trouble finding resources for how to set that up.

Userlevel 7
Badge +27

If you are using a commercial zip code product, some of them include an API that you could call as a web service. If so, you could avoid setting up your own database and writing your own script.