How to increase the width of the survey interface? | XM Community
Question

How to increase the width of the survey interface?

Dear all,
I am completely new to Qualtrics and the community. I have developed a survey that will only be used by Desktop users (mobile compatibility is irrelevant). When looking at the preview, I realized that my horizontal 7-point Likert scales are not displayed entirely (16pt font size for questions and answers). Instead, users would have to scroll to the right to see the 7th answer choice. Obviously, I would like to avoid that at all cost. So far, I have tried the following:
1) Reduce the font size of the answers - Solves the problem, but I would like to be consistent in the font size across questions and answers.
2) Use of Custom CSS in the Look & Feel section - I did preliminary research on my question and pasted different lines of code into the CSS editor, but they all did not have an effect on the width of the survey interface or answers, e.g.,:
.Skin, .SkinInner {width:100% !important;}
.Skin .QuestionOuter.Matrix{ max-width: 100%; }
Therefore, I would really appreciate your help in how to apply working CSS code to my problem.
Thank you very much! I am looking forward to your responses.

13 replies

Userlevel 7
Badge +21

Try using

vw 
instead of
%
In CSS percentage refers to dimensions of the parent element, while vw refers to the viewport width (or the screen width), which, I think , is what you are aiming for.

Thank you for your quick reply. I replaced

%
by
vw
 and adjusted the values, but all this did was shifting my survey interface to the left or right of the screen. The width itself did not change.

Userlevel 7
Badge +21

Sorry. Missed that.
You actually need to target #SkinContent instead of .Skin .SkinInner. Try this:
#SkinContent{ width:100vw; } .Skin .QuestionOuter.Matrix{ width:100vw; max-width:100vw; }