Problems with using Javascript to Record Amount of Audio Participant Listens To | XM Community
Skip to main content
Hello,

I am trying to create a survey in which I present an audio file for the participants to listen to. However, I would like to record how much of the total audio the participants actually choose to listen to (how much they choose to skip, etc.). While I am very new to Javascript, a friend helped me write code to record this information in an embedded data field called "totalTime." However, when I tried to enter this code onto the question, the embedded data (placed at the start of the survey) always reports a value of 0 despite the amount of audio is listened to. I am doing something wrong? Thanks for any help!

function roundNumber(number, digits){

var multiple = Math.pow(10, digits);

var rndedNum = Math.round(number * multiple) / multiple;

return rndedNum;

};

// variables to keep track of progress

var audioListened = 0;

var audioSkipped = 0;

var lastPosition = 0;

// initialize data to 0

Qualtrics.SurveyEngine.setEmbeddedData('totalTime', 0);

var audio_element = jQuery("audio.qmedia") // HTML audio element to track

// as the audio plays, we update the data with the total amount of time listened

audio_element.ontimeupdate = function(event) {

audioListened = event.currentTime - audioSkipped;

lastPosition = event.currentTime;

Qualtrics.SurveyEngine.setEmbeddedData('totalTime', roundNumber(audioListened, 2));

console.log(audioListened, audioSkipped);

};

// when participant skips time, we keep track of this to subtract from total time

audio_element.onseeked = function(event) {

audioSkipped += (event.currentTime - lastPosition); // adds fast-forwarding, subtracts rewinding from total

console.log(audioListened, audioSkipped);

};

_**
What is the value of audioListened in the console log?
Hi @TomG ,