Survey Invite Email HTML Templates | XM Community
Question

Survey Invite Email HTML Templates

• 26 January 2024
  • 2 replies

Userlevel 5
Badge +11

Hi All,

I’m after some advice.  The HTML email templates we use are and have been static in their code and design since their development back in 2018.  Since then our digital studio department have been disbanded and so there is no longer any support and guidance.  We’re not just talking the visual look and feel but the behind the scenes conditional styling that I have since discovered is in the template and until now not realised its importance to ensure the design looks ok across many email clients and devices.

I’d be interested  to know what everyone else does.  How you manage your templates to ensure they remain in good working order and what software you use.  I’m a novice when it comes to HTML and CSS so I’m looking for something to deliver all this behind the scenes code with a polished design.

Currently I’m using word, exporting the design to html then using a combination of free online html editors but this does not obviously cover off any conditional styling.  Currently I’m stuck with injecting the new design into the old template in hope that it works ok (I keep it simple but never the less, the amount of time this takes to do this manually is not a workable solution).

Thanks in advance

Rod Pestell

2 replies

Userlevel 3
Badge +11

Hi @Rod_Pestell,

This can be a bit tricky, depending on the complexity. Personally I don’t like Word, as it might mess with some of the formatting, the same reason I avoid Excel for CSV files.

For the development of the template, I use a lot of sources, but the html editor from w3schools is easy to use:

https://www.w3schools.com/html/tryit.asp?filename=tryhtml_editor

There might be other and better options out there, but I just never had the need to, as this one works for me.