Using Regex for a custom validation | XM Community
Skip to main content

Hi,
I've an ID that follows a specific format, & I want to enforce that this format is adhered to during input using custom validation. Looks like I might be able to do this using Regex. I'm new to Regex, & haven't been able to get my head around it just yet:

The ID is made of 3 parts following this format:
Always starts with P0
then 2 numbers
then 3 numbers

Any help/advice would be greatly appreciated!
Thanks!

Matches Regex:

^P0\\d{5}$

Perfect, thank you! (I see where I as going wrong now).

I good place to get started with Regex is www.regex101.com. It provides quite a good explanation for the expression one enters.

Hi,
Similarly, I also need an ID that follows a specific format for custom validation. I am totally clueless about REGEX, can someone please help?
The ID is made of 3 parts following this format:
Always starts with a "B"
then 1-digit or 2-digit number (maximum 2)
followed by a "-"
then 1-digit or 2-digit number (maximum 2)

for example, B8-2, B12-8, or B11-13
Any help/advice would be greatly appreciated!
Thank you!

https://community.qualtrics.com/XMcommunity/discussion/comment/49135#Comment_49135Matches Regex:

^B\\d{1,2}-\\d{1,2}$

Thank you, Tom! You are my lifesaver! It worked!

Hi,
I now find out that some of the IDs may include alphabets (small letters or CAP). So, the custom validation needs to follow the following format:
Always starts with a "B"
then 1-digit or 2-digit number or alphabet (small or CAP) [maximum 2]
followed by a "-"
then 1-digit or 2-digit number or alphabet (small or CAP) [maximum 2]
for example, B8-2a, B12-c8, or B11-VA
How should the Regex be changed to? Please help. Thank you in advance!

https://community.qualtrics.com/XMcommunity/discussion/comment/49290#Comment_49290Regex Matches: ^B[a-zA-Z0-9]{1,2}-[a-zA-Z0-9]{1,2}$

Thank you, Tom! I'm so grateful for your help!

Hi,