Honest opinion about Dashboards | XM Community

Honest opinion about Dashboards

• 15 February 2024
  • 2 replies

Badge

I’ve been working in Dashboards for 3 months. After creating 3 dashboards, I see many technical limitations of this platform, and finding it hard to justify the time/cost/effort for broader implementation. We’ve already paid for the expanded license, so I’m more or less stuck with making it work as best I can.  However, I’m curious what others think of it, and if anyone has been able to successfully implement it for their organization.

Besides it being painfully clunky and slow, one of my biggest pain points is not being able to configure a 1-time benchmark using a custom metric calculation. The only workaround is manually entering it into the benchmark interface. 

Which leads to pain-point #2….it’s not possible to manually enter a new benchmark row under an existing benchmark which severely limits how I can use benchmarks. For example, say I calculated a custom metric and I want it to fall under an existing benchmark (Benchmark A). I’m forced to create brand new benchmark (Benchmark A, ver. 2’), because I can’t simply add an additional row. Reply by Qualtrics rep: This is by design. Benchmarks are designed to be iterated perhaps once or twice a year based on existing and generalised figures

Which doesn’t make sense, because if we obtain an additional datapoint that would fall under an existing benchmark (Ex. Product OSAT, and if we released an additional product later in the year), we’d still have to go the Version 2 route, regardless of how frequently we were to update the benchmark.

These are just a couple of many…

I have reached out to my Qualtrics rep, and the replies generally indicate that the platform doesn’t allow certain features ‘by design’. Now, why would Qualtrics purposefully limit their UX and restrict users from only using the platform based on how THEY want it to be used?