How to pass key value pair from iFrame parent into Qaultrics? | XM Community
Skip to main content

I have an iFrame-embedded Qualtrics survey installed on a client site. I need to be able to capture the parent page's URL and UTM (key value pair) into Qualtrics. I am able to capture the parent URL by using an embedded variable as described here, but not the key value pair. I have added an additional embedded data variable for the key value ("Mode"), but I don't know how to adjust the JS to include it. Any advice would be a HUGE help!
Here is the JS I'm currently using for the parent URL:
var parentUrl = (parent != window) ? document.referrer : "";
Qualtrics.SurveyEngine.setEmbeddedData("parentUrl", parentUrl);

Hi jaemaz,
I'm not an expert in this area but I think you are going to struggle to retrieve any data outside of the iframe. The survey can't really "see" anything outside of its own scope - the only reason it can get the parent URL is because it is passed in (as document.referrer).
For starters I think you'll need to define the problem with some more info. eg: Where is the key value pair coming from? Is it being stored in in a data attribute? Is it an endpoint from an AJAX call?
Good luck!

Thanks for the response bgooldfed --
I'm looking to get the key-value pair from a string at the end of the parent URL itself (UTMs). (Such as https://mydomain.com/?Mode=1)
In poking around a bit more, it looks like I would have to bridge the gap between the parent site and the iframe since they are on different domains. I've read about inserting JS on the parent page and inside the iframe to pass the information into the iframe via a POST request, I'm just not fluent enough in JS to pull it off, and I'm hoping there is a simpler solution.

Is the UTM being captured when you are getting the parent URL? If so you could split it:var parentUrl = (parent != window) ? document.referrer : ""; //"https://mydomain.com/?Mode=1)

//find where the key-value pair starts