Seeking Assistance on Randomized Treatment Assignment in Survey Design | XM Community
Question

Seeking Assistance on Randomized Treatment Assignment in Survey Design

Badge +1

Hello Everyone, 

I am writing here because I am encountering some issues when creating my survey for my thesis. I am studying whether matching a chatbot personality to the user can yield to a greater acceptance. 

To do so, after asking their personality type, I would like to assign each participant randomly to different treatments. However, with the way I’m doing things, the participant goes through all these blocks one after the other. Here below is a screenshot of the Survey Flow. 

Is there a way to go in which the participant selects an answer from a questions and is allocated randomly to one of these following blocks once?

Your assistance upon this matter is highly appreciated.

Best regards, 

Jorge Ibanez

11 replies

Badge +1

Hello Ahmed, 

Thank you for your input, but now that I’ve collected the data, somehow, the treatment data does not seem to show properly. 

In my survey, each participant should be shown one condition each, but on the data it’s shown as they have undergone through 2 conditions. Moreover, all it looks like all the participants are reserved, while it should not be the case. A friend of mine did the survey and clicked on Extroverted and it does not appear. 

Looking forward to your reply,

Best,

Userlevel 7
Badge +21

In this setup all your values will be overwritten except the onces circled. So at the end of the day you will have only one value.

Also, please read the support pages on Piped text and check how the different options work before  launching the survey. QuestionText is your question text. ChoiceDescription is the text for the choice and not the choice made by the respondent. That will be selected choices.

Given your setup:

This condition is always FALSE. That's why all you see if reserved.