Is it possible to use same question number for timing elements when using a randomizer? | XM Community
Question

Is it possible to use same question number for timing elements when using a randomizer?

• 26 August 2020
  • 2 replies

Hi
I am relatively new to Qualtrics and I haven't found information regarding this question on the forums.
Here is my current application.
I am making an experiment using the randomizer element in the flow of the survey. Thus, participants will be randomly assign to one block. I need to know how much time participants spend in the block despite the condition than they are assign by the randomizer. That is why i've inserted a timing element in each of the possible blocks within the randomizer. I though about naming the timing elements with the same question ID/Number. The idea was to get always the time recorded in the same ID/Number no matter to which block participants get assign by the randomizer.
Could there be any conflicts for naming the timing elements with the same ID? Or would I get the report of the survey for the timing element for any condition that the participant is assign to with the same ID?

Thanks for your help
Miguel Meza

2 replies

Userlevel 5
Badge +4

Hi,
If your requirement is to calculate the time spent for complete block then using Q_TotalDuration variable in survey flow you can calculate it.
1. Create the Q_TotalDuration variable in the survey flow at start.
2.Add the below embedded variable in the branch of block 1 before the block.
block1_time_before = ${e://Field/Q_TotalDuration}
3. After the block 1 add the below embedded variable which will store the time spent in block1.
block1_Time = $e{ e://Field/Q_TotalDuration - e://Field/block1_time_before }
See, below screenshot.
image.png

Hi SurajK, thanks for your suggestion.