Confidentiality of Qualtrics Surveys | XM Community
Skip to main content

I'm fairly new to Qualtrics, but was asked a question about confidentiality by a victims advocate/violence prevention advocate that heard from a "...colleague in a similar role at another university that their area utilizes Qualtrics for intake and case management purposes and that it’s confidential in that only folks with the credentials to access their Qualtrics accounts are confidential advocates."
So, I'm wondering if that's possible...for surveys and things to be completely confidential.
Thank you for any assistance.

You have to aspects of confidentiality here, 1) what type of information Qualtrics stores regarding the person and 2) who can access said information. Qualtrics is only responsible for the 1st point. Restricting access to the data falls to the user who collects the data, to protect it using a clear data management procedure. Like your colleague says, those with the login credentials can see the data. So it is your job to assure only the correct people can access the data.
What Qualtrics can do is anonymize responses. This is a two step process.

1. make sure when you distribute the survey for people to take, use only an anonymous link. This is done by selecting a) distributions b)anonymous link.

2. Turn on "anonymize response". This prevents qualtrics from collecting geographic data of the respondent based on IP address. It does not interfere with any of the data collection (see image below)

security.PNG

Very importantly, if you ask a client or put a client's name in the qualtrics survey using a question, then it is no longer anonymous. So you will need to have another way to link a qualtrics survey to them without their name. Researchers usually do this using a Master list - where a name is paired with a number. This number is then used as the 'name' of the person when doing the survey. The list with the name/number combo is stored separately from all data.