How do I disable the next button until the last carousel question is answered? | XM Community
Solved

How do I disable the next button until the last carousel question is answered?

• 13 September 2021
  • 11 replies

Hello,
I am very new with Qualtrics and javascript.
Is there a way for my next button to hidden until/appear only after the last carousel question is answered?
Has anyone written a similar script and could help me with it?

icon

Best answer by JeremyK 14 September 2021, 16:10

View original

11 replies

Userlevel 5
Badge +7

You could do it with JS, yes. Attach a .click() eventListener to the carousel .QuestionBody with an index that starts at 0 and increments by 1 per click. Set your next button to be hidden by calling the Qualtrics question API hideNextButton(). Check the index each click and, once the number of carousel questions has been reached (e.g. index > 4), call showNextButton(). A few problems I foresee could crop up, but that's the short of it.
A much, much simpler solution would be to set this question to required and force a response, ensuring each question is answered before allowed respondents to continue to the next page (provided that partial answers is what you're trying to out of your data set).

Badge +1

For anyone else who comes looking for a solution to this. It counts the number of carousel questions, and then every time an answer button is clicked it simply checks whether the question being answered is the last question in the carousel.
Qualtrics.SurveyEngine.addOnReady(function()
{
jQuery("#NextButton").hide();

elAnswerButtons = document.querySelector('.CarouselAnswerButtonList');

var QuestionCount = document.querySelectorAll("div.CarouselCardFrame div[data-choiceid]").length;

elAnswerButtons.addEventListener("click", () => {
dispQ = document.querySelector('div.CarouselCard:not(.NoDisplay)').getAttribute('data-choiceid');
if(dispQ == QuestionCount)
{
jQuery("#NextButton").show();
}
});

});