Turn displayed choices into selected choices with js | XM Community
Skip to main content

I would like to use javascript to select choices in a multi-select MC question based on unselected choices in a previous question.

I’m a little confused by how to do this because most of the related threads I’ve found are asking about selecting choices in conjunction with setting embedded data and/or other functions (and because I’m new to js). I only want to change the answer choice status -- all the other js/piped text/embedded data stuff is happening elsewhere. 

(The reason I want to force them to selected state is because I later have to do complex display logic on 200+ answer choices, and the difference between “is displayed” and “is selected” will save me 500-1000 manual menu selections, and it seems like I can get a SelectedChoicesCount to use for embedded data, but not DisplayedChoicesCount.)

Here’s the flow:

Q1: List of tv shows, including distractors; participants select the ones they’ve seen

Q2 (Hidden): List of shows that were unselected in Q1, with distractors removed via advanced randomization

Q3 (Hidden): Long list of video clips, multiple clips per stimulus show that was listed in Q1. Display logic will be used to only display a clip/answer choice if the show was displayed in Q2 and its quota hasn’t been met yet. Then blah blah complicated additional js written by a friend to do other stuff needed for the experiment].

I’d like to add js to Q2 to turn Displayed Choices into Selected Choices. (And then in Q3 I could use display logic to choose selected choices rather than displayed choices, which would save a lot of trackpadding.)

I know that I would use some variation of this:

('inputttype="checkbox"]').x.prop('checked',true);

where x tells it which boxes to check, but I’m not sure what to put in place of x that would mean ‘all displayed choices’.