How to store emails separately from other collected data | XM Community

How to store emails separately from other collected data

• 18 August 2022
  • 4 replies

Badge +1

As part of my survey I am asking for interested respondents to participate in a follow-up interview. I am therefore asking for their email so that I can contact them to set up this interview. However, the ethics board does not want these emails stored with the rest of the survey data. They seem to think that this is very easy to do (and I'm sure that it is) but as I am new to Qualtrics I'm struggling to do so. They have suggested a few ways to do it and I was wondering if someone could advise on the easiest way? These are the options that I have so far:

• Code a response so that the identifying email is not directly stored with the data/ have particular questions in a survey stored in a separate file but linked to the survey (I have no idea how to do this)

• Use unique survey links in Qualtrics to send potential participants their own survey link (I have figured out how to send out unique survey links, I just want to make sure that I will be able to connect the specific email to the responses. I'm familiar with where to find the distribution summary but have yet to find an easy way to cross-reference the email distribution with the responses. I also don't want to go through the hassle of adding all of the contacts if this is not the most efficient solution)

• Link original survey to a secondary survey where they would be asked to provide their email (I am worried that this extra step will deter participants from providing their email)

• Indicate that email will be removed from the dataset and replacing it with a code and have an encrypted file that has the email address and the survey code stored separately

• Something with embedded data...?

Thanks in advance for your help! This very tired and stressed grad student is very appreciative 😊

4 replies

Userlevel 5
Badge +25