Using responses from one survey to populate multiple choice options of another | XM Community
Solved

Using responses from one survey to populate multiple choice options of another

Badge

I have a survey that employees fill out anytime a client enrolls in a program. So far the program is small (about 20 people).
I am creating a 2nd survey that practitioners will fill out weekly. I would like the first question on the new survey to list all the names of the program participants. The practitioner would select the clients who were active in the program that week and then answer questions for each client who was active.
I have created a contact list trigger with client first and last names. Is there any way that I can have that contact list autopopulate a multiple choice question on the second survey?
If not, is there another way to accomplish this? Or will I need to manually update the second survey each week to reflect new clients? I am just learning the ins and outs of what Qualtrics can do and so far I can't figure this one out.
Thanks!

icon

Best answer by captiv8ed 19 May 2022, 00:59

View original

3 replies

Userlevel 5
Badge +25

Hi captiv8ed,
I've tried solving a similar problem in the past - not as complicated as yours, but still aiming to have a multiple choice question with a dynamic number of choices.
Unfortunately Qualtrics requires multiple choice questions to be statically defined. You must specify the number of options available.
I did find a solution to my problem but yours is a bit different, as you want to display each person in your contact list as an option. As far as I'm aware there is no way of easily doing that - contact lists are designed for sending out personalised surveys to each individual, not for putting details from a group of individuals into a survey.
That being said, I can think of two possible solutions:
1 - keeping your contact list format (complicated)