Randomise the embedded data to be shown in piped text across different questions | XM Community
Skip to main content

Hi, I'm fairly new to Qualtrics (and have zero (0) knowledge about JavaScript) so here I am because I couldn't find an answer :,)
Context:
For my survey, respondents have to read 30+ vignettes. After each vignette, respondents have to answer 3 questions (which are the same for all vignettes). So each vignette + 3 standard qns have to be in a block.
The presentation of the vignette-blocks will be randomised, but respondents must read & respond to all of them.
Problem:
Every vignette contains a fictional person's name. I have a list of fictional names to be presented to respondents, and would like the name displayed in each vignette to be randomised. (e.g., Respondent 1 would see 'Tom' for Vig.1 & 'Harry' for Vig.2; respondent 2 would see 'Harry' for Vig.1 & 'Tom' for Vig.2) Each name can only appear once per respondent.
From my understanding, use of embedded data and piped text are the most efficient ways to achieve this. However, while I have tried many different methods, so far I cannot figure out how to:
(a) display a different name for each vignette -- I tried inserting a Randomiser element, but all the vignettes ended up displaying the one randomly selected name; and
(b) ensure that each fictional name appears only once across all the vignettes.
(c) I was also wondering if it was possible to insert the same name twice in the vignette, something like:
, a student [vignette's heading]
is having trouble with coding... [vignette's body]
^Hence, the same name would have to be displayed within each vignette.

My priorities are to achieve (a) and (b); (c) is ideal but optional!
Thank you so much in advance :") If the solution requires JS I will learn it.......

Yes we can create three embedded data and set those ED with three different names randomly. Now in the block/ vignette's body add the name using JS.