Integrating Qualtrics survey into a transaction flow | XM Community
Skip to main content

Hello, everyone. I am a senior software engineer given the requirement to integrate a qualtrics survey into the normal flow of our transactions. The result need not be instantaneous, but the key point is that the customer must complete the survey before continuing on to the next step, which in this case is to get an artifact.
So the flow is:
1) Customer presses a button "Get thing".
2) If the customer has not already taken the survey, they are redirected to the survey. They take the survey.
3) After the survey is done, they return to our website and are presented with the window again. This time, they press "get thing" and get their new , shiny thing!
Let's call the thing uniquely identifying this operation as 'transactionID'. A user can have many transactions in flight at the same time, so we can't just assume that the customer id uniquely identifies the transaction in question.
So ... how to implement this?
I can think of two solutions:
Solution 1: Site-Intercept logic on qualtrics survey.
1A) User presses button. Goes to a qualtrics survey.
1B) survey site-intercept captures the transactionID and adds it to the response's embedded data.
1C) User takes the survey. When the response is completed, our system is notified by a webhook on response.completed, which tells us both that a response is completed and the responseID that was so completed.
1D) Using the survey response endpoint, we query based on the response id. This returns the response and the embedded data associated with it. We pull the transactionID (stored in 1B) from the embedded data. We then mark the transaction associated with transactionID something like 'survey complete' in our own system.
1E) The customer is now free to walk home with their shiny new thing!

SOLUTION 2: Programmatically create response.