How can I allow questions to be skipped in survey? | XM Community
Skip to main content

I am setting up a survey with 3 stages at which a participant can opt to leave and not complete the full survey. I am very new to qualtrics. Please can you tell me how to set this up. I already have the full template completed with 3 boxes (overview, detailed participant info and consent) and then a 4 box with demographic survey)
For example, I have set 2 options on question 1, I am interested in finding out more (which I would like if ticked to take person to next box, detailed participant information) and I am not interested in this study (which If ticked I would like to take participant to end of survey and message saying thank you for your time)
thanks for your help

I'm not entirely sure what you mean when you say "boxes" but here's some basic information for you.
First of all, know that respondents can generally choose to quit the survey at any time once they've started. There's really nothing stopping them from just closing the web browser and not continuing your survey, if that's what they really want to do. When editing your survey, you can go to Survey Options and ensure that "Save and Continue" or "Allow respondents to finish later" is checked. It is usually checked by default for me, but it's always good to look at those options and be sure. That Save & Continue feature will save your respondent's progress as they go through each page of your survey. If your respondent completes 2 pages of your survey and then stops, then those 2 pages of responses will still be saved. Incomplete responses like that are usually closed and recorded after 1 week of inactivity. That's another setting that you'll find in your Survey Options section. For more information on those options, view this Survey Options help page.